“Dream Big and Dream Fierce”

After a long stressful weekend of work, I was excited to come home to watch the 2012 Screen Actors Guild Awards and eat my sushi that I got from work. I know I don’t know much about films and the true beauty of them, but I really love to watch them. One of the best moments of this award show was when Viola Davis won the SAG award for Outstanding Lead Actress for her role in The Help. I’m so happy she won because in my opinion her performance was amazing (but then again what do I know… and I didn’t watch a few of other nominee’s performances). Nonetheless I think Viola Davis deserved the award. Her speech was truly inspiring. One thing I love about the movie industry is it’s based on talent. Of course, it’s Hollywood, so being gorgeously handsome will definitely help you and their are plenty of stupid movies being produced, but in the end of day it doesn’t matter how much you money you have or how you look like, it’s about the performance you give and nothing can buy that— nothing can buy pure talent. Watching these actors give a true raw performance is absolutely beautiful because they capture reality and that’s is all you can ask for.

“I was eight years old when I decided to be an actor. And I am just so privileged to be gazing on the beautiful face of the woman who inspired me that beautiful day, and that’s Cicely Tyson.

And when I woke up and realized how difficult it was to be an actor, and how the rejection was so high, then another beautiful face graced the screen when I was in college, and that was Meryl, who just …always inspires me.

But there’s so many people involved in The Help, in lieu of mentioning all them, I just have to say that, what is there but a dream? You can’t trade in your dream for another dream. I am so proud to be an actor, and I thank the Screen Actors Guild for this award.

And I have a special, special note to the kids in Central Falls, Rhode Island, in Segue Institute of Learning in Central Falls, Rhode Island: to dream big and dream fierce.”

Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

